May 26, 2024

In baseball, on this date, the Atlanta Braves won their first World Series following their relocation to Atlanta.


Atlanta Braves ground Houston Astros to seal first World Series title in 26  years | World Series | The Guardian


1958 saw the start of construction on the Giants’ new stadium in San Francisco. The nearby rocks looked like candlesticks.

1968 saw Bob Gibson of the St. Louis Cardinals win the Cy Young Award for the first time. Gibson’s 22-9 record and 1.12 ERA demonstrated his dominance over hitters, making him an obvious choice.

1981 — The Los Angeles Dodgers defeated the New York Yankees 9-2 to win the World Series in six games, capping an incredible comeback from a 0-2 deficit thanks to the bat of Pedro Guerrero and the reliable pitching of Burt Hooton and Steve Howe. For the victory, Hooton pitched 5 1-3 innings and gave up just two runs. The second-year relief pitcher For the save, Steve Howe recorded the final 11 outs. Guerrero scored four runs in the sixth inning to seal the victory with a two-run triple in the fifth and a two-run single in the sixth. In the eighth inning, he completed the scoring with a home run.

1989 — The Oakland Athletics defeated the San Francisco Ginats 9–6 and won the World Series thanks to the pitching and hitting of Mike Moore and the bat of Rickey Henderson.


2021 World Series: MLB caps rocky year with Braves vs. Astros title


1995 — After moving to Atlanta, the Braves won their first World Series after defeating Cleveland 1-0 in Game 6. In the sixth inning, David Justice hit a home run, and Tom Glavine and Mark Wohlers combined for a one-hitter.

2001: Randy Johnson led his Arizona Diamondbacks to a 2-0 lead in the World Series by shutting down the New York Yankees with a three-hitter in a 4-0 victory.

2007 — In Game 4 of the World Series, the Boston Red Sox defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-3 to win their second championship in four years. Jonathan Papelbon closed out the game with his third Series save after Jon Lester pitched shutout ball into the sixth inning.

2009 — In Game 1 of the World Series, the defending champion Philadelphia Phillies defeated the New York Yankees 6-1 thanks to two solo home runs by Chase Utley off CC Sabathia.

2011 — In Game 7, the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Texas Rangers 6-2 to win an incredible World Series that they weren’t even predicted to win.

2012 — The San Francisco Giants defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-3 to complete a four-game sweep and win their second World Series title in three years after Marco Scutaro singled home the game-winning run in the tenth inning.

2013 — The Red Sox defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 3-1 to take a 3-2 lead in the World Series. Jon Lester defeated Adam Wainwright once more, and journeyman David Ross hit a tiebreaking double in the seventh inning.


Atlanta Braves to face Houston Astros in MLB's World Series after beating  Los Angeles Dodgers - ABC News


2014: The Kansas City Royals stunned the San Francisco Giants and Jake Peavy with a seven-run second inning, forcing a Game 7 World Series.

2015: The Kansas City Royals defeated the New York Mets 7-1 to take a 2-0 lead in the World Series. Johnny Cueto pitched a two-hitter, and Eric Hosmer added two more runs.

2016 saw the World Series return to Wrigley Field for the first time since 1945. Cody Allen survived a ninth-inning jam, and the Cleveland Indians pitched their fifth shutout of the postseason, holding the Chicago Cubs 1-0 for a 2-1 lead.

2017: Los Angeles rallied past the Houston Astros 6-2 to tie the World Series at two games apiece after Cody Bellinger lined a game-winning double in the ninth inning and four Dodgers pitchers combined on a two-hitter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *