May 29, 2024

Marvin Harrison Jr. of Ohio State is a semifinalist for the 2023 Maxwell Award.

Marvin Harrison Jr. of Ohio State was regarded as one of the top college football players going into the season. The wide receiver has impressed with his play for the Buckeyes through ten games in 2023.


The Maxwell Football Club revealed the 87th Maxwell Award semifinalists on Monday. Harrison was one of the 17 players selected for the annual award given to the top college football player. Six conferences are represented on this list; the SEC leads the way with six semifinalists, followed by the Big Ten and Big 12 with three each.


Harrison is one of the 2023 Maxwell Award semifinalists, along with Alabama quarterback Josh Halderoe, Florida State quarterback Jordan Travis, Georgia quarterback Carson Beck, Bulldogs tight end Brock Bowers, Liberty quarterback Kaidon Salter, LSU wide receiver Malik Nabers, Tigers quarterback Jayden Daniels, Michigan running back Blake Corum, Wolverines quarterback J.J. McCarthy, Missouri wide receiver Luther Burden III, North Carolina quarterback Drake Maye, Oklahoma quarterback Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma State running back Ollie Gordon Jr., Oregon quarterback Bo Nix, USC quarterback Cameron Williams, and Washington quarterback Michael Penix Jr.

HELP ‘THE FOUNDATION’: Click this link to help Ohio State football and basketball student-athletes receive compensation for their names, images, and likenesses.


The Ohio State 2023 campaign has begun, and the Buckeyes are prepared to challenge for both a Big Ten and a national championship once more. Take advantage of our FREE 7-day trial to become a Buckeyes subscriber and stay up to date on the newest news!


Harrison has 59 catches for 1,063 yards and 12 touchdowns this season. He recently contributed to the Buckeyes’ 38-3 victory over Michigan State by hauling in seven passes for 149 yards and two touchdowns, as well as his first-ever 19-yard rushing touchdown.


Harrison is second in the nation in receiving touchdowns, seventh in receiving yards, and seventh in receiving yards per game (106.3) this season despite being the main target of every team’s opponent secondary. In eight of ten games in 2023, the junior has at least one touchdown reception and has exceeded the 100-yard receiving mark in all but three of them. Harrison made history on Saturday by becoming the first receiver for the Scarlet and Grey to surpass 1,000 yards in multiple seasons. And he tiedDavid Boston holds the record for the most receptions of 100 yards in Ohio State history with 14.


In the 83-year history of the Maxwell Award, the Buckeyes have only produced four winners. In 1955, Howard “Hopalong” Cassidy, a halfback, was the first. Bob Ferguson, the fullback, won the prize six years later. The Heisman Trophy winner in 1975, Archie Gryphon, was also the recipient of the Maxwell Award; in 1995, a running back shared the honours.

For additional coverage on Ohio State, follow Patrick Murphy on Twitter and Instagram.

What happens to the Buckeyes next? Take five seconds to sign up for our FREE Buckeyes newsletter right now to make sure you’re informed!


When the 87th Maxwell Award winner is revealed at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Friday, December 8, 2023, Harrison hopes to add his name to that list. On Friday, March 8, 2024, at the 87th Maxwell Awards Gala, the Maxwell Award will be formally presented.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *