May 30, 2024

A standout receiver for the Ohio State Buckeyes, wants to create even more history.

Harrison Jr. was announced as a finalist on Tuesday for the Football Bowl Subdivision’s top receiver, the Fred Biletnikoff Award.

Marvin Harrison Jr. of the Ohio State Buckeyes is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award.

This season, Harrison has already created history at Ohio State by being the first player to record more than 1000 receiving yards in consecutive seasons.

With 77 receptions for 1,263 yards and 14 touchdowns last season, the Philadelphia native came in second place for the award. With 1,211 receiving yards and 14 touchdowns this season, he could surpass the record if he plays in a bowl game.

Terry Glenn, who had one of the greatest single seasons in Ohio State history in 1995—catching 57 passes for 1,316 yards and 17 touchdowns—is the only Buckeye to have ever won the Biletnikoff Award.

Harrison will go down as one of the greatest receivers in Ohio State history even though he may not surpass Glenn’s records.

Currently ranked sixth in Heisman odds, the junior receiver is the top position player still in contention. In addition, he was listed as a semifinalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, which goes to the best college football player.

Harrison Jr.’s season in Columbus is probably coming to an end, but he hasn’t said if he’ll participate in the Buckeyes bowl game later this year.

Harrison is one of the three award finalists, along with Rome Odunze of Washington and Malik Nabers of LSU. On December 8, the winner will be declared.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *